PPP treatment help

Posted Wed 13 Mar 2019 23.20 by Gwil
40 year old Bricklayer/builder suffering with PPP on palms of both hands looking for treatment that will reduce flareups & pain

Hi everyone I was diagnosed with PPP 7 years ago at the age of 33, I only have it on the palms of my hands not on my feet. I’m a Bricklayer by trade and found day to day life difficult but I plod on. I have been seeing a dermatologist for a few years now, tried steroid creams with regular use of Vaseline,cetroben some other creams from health shops to keep it moisturised. I wear cotton gloves 24/7 and although I can get away with it in work however summer days with a T-shirt on and gloves draws attention. I’ve tried acitretin for nearly a year which had no benefits but suffered hair loss, Ciclosporin reduced flare ups but I felt unwell and my stomach swelled up to which I had to come off the medicine. I have been on methotrexate now for 6 months and feel unwell, no energy, tummy upset, buzzing sound in my ear and constantly feel like vomiting. My hands clear for a day or two then I get flare ups. I have a doctors appointment end of the week and I’m looking to come off the medication as 2 & half years of medication hasn’t helped much but made me feel unwell & depressed. When I have flare ups I use Dermo pads, it’s like a plaster but benefits from not using gloves and the mess it makes when blisters burst. For a year the Dermatologist was telling me about a clinical trial called Apricot & another called Plum which he was hopeful I would take part, my name was on the list but unfortunately the area I’m from wasn’t considered for the trial (hopefully it’s a success and possibly be a new treatment for us in the near future) I haven’t tried UV as my dermatologist claims it won’t work and it’s useless for PPP. Has anyone got any experience in it working? What methods have you tried that I haven’t mentioned worth giving a go? I have recently agreed to do a virtual appointment with my dermato