Alternatives to Methotrexate

Posted Wed 24 Jun 2015 13.41 by rororoyourboat929
I have had plaque and scalp psoriasis for around 15 years and have been recently diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis

Hello. I have had psoriasis for around 15 years now and I have always responded well to light therapy to treat it. However I have recently been diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis and my rheumatologist is doing everything he can to get me to take methotrexate but I want to hold off on taking such a powerful drug. The thing is, I am still a student and my lifestyle doesn't really fit into weekly blood tests/ no drinking/ horrible side effects plus I have got engaged this year and my fiance and I plan to start a family in the near future. So I was wondering if there were any alternatives to methotrexate?? As I mentioned my rheumatologist is doing his best to convince me to start taking methotrexate and has even told me that psoriasis causes infertility (which is a complete lie!) to get me to take it. I would really appreciate any advice that anyone can offer me :)

Posted Wed 24 Jun 2015 19.29 by Asma (edited Tue 22 Mar 2016 11.35 by kiranaar10728)
I have been psychologically affected. I reached a very low point last summer which is when I started to take positive action and research al

Hi I know exactly how you feel as my plaque psoriasis reached an all time severe flare up last summer. I was told that the only option was methotrexate which i desperately wanted to avoid at all costs. I know that you don't want to give up drinking. However, my skin improved by 50% within 6 weeks of changing my diet to gluten, dairy and sugar free. It is difficult I know, and i fell off the wagon many times since last summer. However, i recently made a pact with myself that i will stick to it because there no food or drink is better than getting rid of psoriasis. I;m sure this diet will help the arthritis too. If you need any help please get in touch. xx