Nb-uvb side effects?

Posted Wed 12 Apr 2023 07.27 by mt382

Hi all, For background I'm an ex-biologist turned medical student - longterm home NB-UVB user. Every year when I'm doing NB UVB over the spring months, I become tired, depressed and generally have an upset stomach with pretty bad exacerbations of daily diarrhea. The actual research into NB UVB is lacking beyond efficacy and short term skin cancer safety profile, so I thought I'd ask whether any other long term home or clinic NB UVB users had spotted any patterns of side effects as part of their treatment? This is just for personal interest. My psoriasis sits uncomfortably between topical doing absolutely nothing and my dermatologists won't prescribe systemic because there's no joint involvement and it only (quite comprehensively) covers my arms and lower legs. So NB UVB remains the main approach for me, but with it seem to come some quite debilitating GI and mood effects. Any experience shared would be appreciated.

Posted Sun 21 May 2023 22.56 by LondonWest
Had P on and off for many years 🤗

apart from itching i didn’t get any bad side effects from using a home unit clearing doesn’t last long and psoriasis comes back as soon as you stop using the home light unit = slowly but surely

Posted Mon 22 May 2023 15.19 by Steview
A P sufferer for over 30 years, through good and bad times.

We know that there is a risk of sun cancer and so does exposure to natural light of course. The only side effects I experienced was burning on odd occasions. Maybe the reactions you are having are related to something different. Plus if you know you get these reactions why continue to use the NUVB at home and how are you monitoring your exposure at home? In a clinical setting your exposure is monitored and thus you can report these side effects to the nurses.

Posted Mon 22 May 2023 15.29 by mt382