Biologics and immunosuppression

Posted Thu 18 May 2023 21.24 by mt382

Hi all, I've got an appointment with my dermo and have been asked to research methotrexate, cyclosporin and biologics ahead of attending. My perception of biologics is that thehre much more targeted and so have far fewer deleterious effects than things like methotrexate (which literally suppress bone marrow function) and so will be pursuing biologics to the extreme. I am a medical student, and so when I start placements and in my working life I'll be under constant exposure to viral illness. I also have young children who are constantly making me ill. To that end, could i ask anyone on biologics to share their experience of the practicalities of the immunosuppression. Are infections more frequent? Are they worse? Do they last longer? Any hospitalizations? Many thanks in advance

Posted Thu 18 May 2023 21.59 by Tracyjane

Hi, My 15 year son has been on cyclosporine & is now on methrotrexate. I don’t like him being on any of them tbh but his dermatologist said that he has to try them &. Them to fail before he can try biologics . So I’m also wondering what they are like the same as you. I am also worried about him going onto them at such a young age but he needs something, he’s missed so much school this year because of the flare on his face 😢

Posted Sat 20 May 2023 21.30 by Steview
A P sufferer for over 30 years, through good and bad times.