Chronic psoriasis, latent TB and Otzela!

Posted Sat 3 Jun 2023 22.42 by Ld1609

Hi all, I am new to the pso association and only got membership this week. I am in the middle of one of the second worst flare ups i have ever had in being a pso sufferer for 21 years. I have pso in my scalp, ears, nails, on my arms, both my legs and feet. Id say 70% of my body is covered. My mental health is collapsing and i am really struggling with being a stay at home Mum to my 2 yr old and 1 yr old. I was on cyclosporin last year which my derm took me off after 8 months. Cyclosporin cleared my pso up and for the first time since i was 15 i had clear skin. As my derm was putting in my request for funding for biologics, a routine blood test picked up that i had contracted latent TB while on cyclosporin. I am now currently on Otezla, does any one have any experience in how long it takes to start seeing some improvement? My derm tells me it can take up to 4 months but honestly I'm not prepared to wait that long when my quality of life is so terrible at the minute. I have done some research and you can start biologics once you have been on the latent TB meds for 4-8 weeks, but my derm isn't keen. Which i think is an easy stance to take when it isn't her quality of life that is affected. I am tearful, dont sleep for more then 3 hrs a night and then have full and chaotic days with 2 toddlers. Any advice would be much appreciated. I feel such a victim to this condition and im dreading the summer months when i still have to wear my “uniform” of leggings and jumpers : (

Posted Wed 7 Jun 2023 17.31 by Summer