Ciclosporin treatment

Posted Sat 28 Sep 2019 10.21 by StephanieAlbax
Stephanie. 32 years old. Mother of 2. Nursing student.

I'm a student nurse in my first year at Uni and have been told from occupational health if my psoriasis doesn't clear i quite simply can't be a nurse due to infection control etc. I'm devastated so have been to dermatology and been prescribed ciclosporin. I take 150mg twice a day. Only on the second week but have been reading horror stories about the drug. I feel like this is my only option. My future career is looking very unlikely at this stage and just wondering how sucessful it has been for everyone else. I'm on it for 8 weeks then on to methotrexate no doubt. Feel like giving up! The stress of worrying about my career is problably making my p worse. Surely there's doctors, nurses etc in the medical field who have p? I'm 32 and this is the first time in my life I've felt confident enough to go study and put myself out there. I'm not getting any younger and if i can't be a nurse because of my skin i worry about how my mental state will end up.

Posted Sat 28 Sep 2019 13.20 by wendyloish

Hi Stephanie, I am not sure I would simply take this person's word for this, My son recently completed a university occupational health and safety course and in his opinion most of the people doing the course, who were actually employed in the field, did not have a real in depth grasp of all the regulations, What is the position and qualifications of the person telling you this? Make them provide you with the pertinent regulations, and have them show your their evidence for the conclusion that psoriasis is an infection risk. Then make them produce precedents where people with psoriasis have been refused entry into the nursing profession. Then if all else fails contact the nursing union. Good luck! wendyloish

Posted Sat 28 Sep 2019 13.29 by StephanieAlbax
Stephanie. 32 years old. Mother of 2. Nursing student.